Post

Blog Header Trees

The Tomb of Juan de Cuevas Rehabilitation, Biloxi


2019-06-10

The Descendants of Juan de Cuevas and the Biloxi Main Street partnered up to apply for a 2018-2019 Heritage Community Grant to restore the Cuevas tomb.  Cuevas died in 1849 and was initially buried on Cat Island where he resided.  When his wife Marie Ladner Cuevas passed away in 1853, she was interred in a tomb in the Biloxi City Cemetery and her husband's remains were reinterred with her.  In the more than 165 years since its construction, the tomb had suffered deterioration from hurricanes and well-meaning, but damaging repairs.  The recently completed work (shown in photo) will lengthen the life of the tomb.  More information about the cemetery is available through the Old Biloxi Cemetery Tour, a 2017-2018 Heritage Community Grant. Visit discover.biloxi.ms.us/old-biloxi-cemetery-tour.

Mississippi Department of Marine Resources
1141 Bayview Avenue Biloxi, MS, 39530

STAY UP TO DATE

Subscribe to Our Newsletter to get Important News

Powered by DigiPro Media